indigenous support

SCEI respects and acknowledges the traditional owners of the Kulin Nation, a place now known by its European name of Melbourne and dates back 30,000 years. The Kulins are made up of five tribal groups in Victoria; Wurundjeri, Boonewrung, Taungurong, Djajawurrung and the Wathaurung people.

History tells us that for thousands of years before European settlement, Australia consisted of 500 – 700 Aboriginal nations, each with their own systems of government, cultural practices, religions and languages.

Today sees many descendants of the Aboriginal tribes still living in and around the capital cities of Australia. As part of the heritage, a “Welcome to Country” is a ceremony performed by Aboriginals at the beginning of all formal ceremonies and events in Australia to help recognise the Aboriginal culture and history. Naidoc (National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Day of Observance Committee) ceremonies are conducted across the country each July to celebrate the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginals and Torres Strait Islanders; a truly inspiring event.

SCEI’s welfare of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people is paramount. Student Welfare Officers and staff will offer full support for these students, including external health and social support. Aboriginal community groups are located nearby and are always at the ready to provide assistance.